Born in Moscow in 1984 and raised in Tel Aviv from an early age, acclaimed pianist Boris Giltburg gives his New York solo recital debut at Carnegie’s Zankel Hall on October 27 with an all-Russian program, presented by the American Friends of the Arthur Rubinstein International Music Society. The program includes works by Rachmaninov, Prokofiev and Scriabin, as well as Giltburg’s own piano arrangement of Shostakovich‘s String Quartet No. 8 in C minor.

Mr. Giltburg’s Rachmaninov CD was selected as BBC Music Magazine‘s Instrumental Choice for August, as well as Gramophone‘s Recording of the Month in June. Gramophone wrote: “This vision will place him among the truly memorable Rachmaninov interpreters, an elect including Moiseiwitsch, Horowitz, Kappel, Richter and Cliburn. His originality stems from a convergence of heart and mind, served by immaculate technique and motivated by a deep and abiding love for one of the 20th century’s greatest composer-pianists.” A video of Mr. Giltburg performing Rachmaninov’s Etude – Tableau, Op. 33, No. 2 can be viewed here.

The pianist has won numerous international competitions, including first prize at the 2013 Queen Elisabeth Competitionsilver prize and audience prize at the 2011 Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition, and second prize and audience prize at the 2002 Santander International Piano Competition. He has appeared with many leading orchestras such as London’s Philharmonia Orchestra, Tokyo’s NHK Symphony Orchestra and the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Boris Giltburg made his BBC Proms debut in 2010 and has toured regularly to South America and China, and to Germany with the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse. In the months following his Queen Elisabeth win, he played with the Seattle Symphony, London Philharmonic and Saint Petersburg Philharmonic orchestras.

The Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition began in 1974 at the initiative of Jan Jacob Bistritzky, whose aim was to unite the name and the artistic legacy of Arthur Rubinstein with the cultural life of Israel. Previous notable first prize winners of this triennial event include Emanuel Ax (who won during its inaugural year), Jeffrey Kahane, Kirill Gerstein and Daniil Trifonov.